ABC mini challenge

H is for Husband

When I was younger, foolish, and a less eligible bachelorette, marrying a rock star or a writer or a nerd sounded like oh-so-cool. I dated a rock star once (was he really?) and he was a great person to be with. But as I learned more about mixing a relationship and a future, we just weren’t made for each other. We had a clean break and that left him as my one and only ex. In all seriousness. Told you I was less eligible.

Yes, I used to like the idea of having a crazy lifetime partner. Someone with a constant adrenaline rush and great sense of humor, spontaneous, explosive, unpredictable… well, you get the picture. I was thinking that the marriage could be an elope and my parents would disown me for that reason. Then I fell in love with a boy who wasn’t a rock star or a writer or a nerd. He was simply just a boy who stole my heart and kept it for so long I didn’t mind if he would never return it. I would die for him. I was so sure if he ever told me he loved me I would spend my whole life taking care of him. But he never did. He never loved me. So I let him keep my heart for a platonic cause.

It was when I met this man who was so out of place, so off of my interest, so not in my future plans, that I acually found my lifetime partner. Someone who was nothing like what I expected my husband would be. A very well-planned man, detailed, composed, mature, a deep thinker, a little annoying but warm, smart, patient. He fought for me. A very rare breed.

In the end I knew that what a girl looks for in a lifetime partner is mainly a comfort, above all else. Well, a young girl would want so many things from a man, but once she approaches the “line”, she would know she doesn’t need that many. Just a steady person who would love her unconditionally and quietly make her fall in love deeper each time.

 

day forty five of 365

8 thoughts on “H is for Husband

  1. “It was when I met this man who was so out of place, so off of my interest, so not in my future plans, that I acually found my lifetime partner. Someone who was nothing like what I expected my husband would be.”

    Love these sentences. Ring so true to me!

    Is such the nature of life? that we get what we didn’t want/plan but is actually what’s best for us?

Leave a Reply

