book · review

Permanent Rose (2005)

image

Maybe, the reason why a lot of adults like me still love reading young adult books is that we all need an escape from the tiring grown-up world. It’s like a getaway after long hard days of being adults :p

This book is a part of Casson Family series. But I guess each book could be read as a single work. Never read any of Hilary McKay’s writings before this, but I could instantly say she’s brilliant. So, Permanent Rose was actually a name. She was the smallest one among four siblings in the Cassons’ house. I love weird families. Like this one right here. Rose, together with her siblings, were named after colors. Saffron, Cadmium, Indigo… Their parents were artists and separated. The kids lived with their mother who spent most of her time in her she-shed, painting.

If you’re expecting for a sweet, spirit-lifting story of kids who survive without their father around, then you would probably be surprised. Especially if you are a stiff kind of parent 😁 Rose was only eight years old, but her wit was beyond her age. She was nothing like an average little girl, and I loved that. So, like what the title says, this very book tells about Rose’s story. Her biggest passion which had a human form; a boy. Of course there’s always a moral to take from every book, including this beautiful one. The family value, above all. I liked how this book shows that no matter how much you are bond as a family, each person in it is a unique individual. Let them be who they want to be.

Her family conflicts get nicely weaved with hers, and the way the story gets escalated makes this book hard to put down. I think some of you can even finish it in one sitting.

Something about strong, stubborn girls always gets to me. Stories about girls who know what they want and how to think for themselves are always keepers. You’d know this when you have a daughter. Or simply when you are an adult who still loves reading YA books 😄

5 thoughts on “Permanent Rose (2005)

  1. Hmm… I think most of the ‘good’ young adult fiction involve parenting to some extent. Maybe that’s why I like it, in addition using it as an escape from adult’s life.

    1. True. Though fictional parenting is still too overwhelming for me who’s already a parent. Maybe i’m just too chickened out to stand for my own belief in good parenting.

Leave a comment